Dorset Landscape Photography: S A V I O U R II

Hi all

 

Never realised I hadn’t shared this image with you all! Shot back in September when I had a day off from the day job.

Having moved house recently (might I add never in wedding season again!) I’m within walking distance of the Nothe Fort area of Weymouth.

The day was very overcast with broken clouds, the sort I love for Long exposure work. The wind started off seeming promising as the clouds were moving quickly, so would create some great shapes. However it was probably gusting 40mph! not great for keeping a camera shake free for 2min plus!.

Any images I had shot at the end of the pier where there is a large metal viewpoint with a great spiral staircase, were completely unusable due to the vibrations through the camera being buffeted by the gusts.

So back up plan in place, I retreated to the base of the pier sheltered by the fort itself. Where there is a Life Buoy attached to the railings. I’ve shot similar LE’s before.

Shot on the Canon 5dMKii, 17-40 @20mm, ISO 50, F/14, 99 seconds

Weymouthstonepier-nothelongexposureblackandwhiteLR-1

Available as a print or canvas

http://www.danbristowphotography.com

Leave a Reply

